Founded in 1858, Melbourne Grammar School is one of the oldest denominational schools in Victoria. The South Yarra campus is immediately recognisable, with its fine collection of nineteenth century bluestone buildings and more recent contemporary architecture, set in generous and picturesque landscaped grounds.
The senior staff common room has been relocated to the top floor of the Centenary Building, also known as the Student Centre. The original building dates from 1959 and was designed by architects Mockridge Stahle & Mitchell. The building was completely refurbished and extended by this practice in 1998 to create a new student focused centre including the school cafeteria. The top floor has been opened up as a single large space with dramatic views to the north over the main oval and school campus. The common room is an important gathering, socialising and meeting space for all staff. A new glass lift was added at the rear on Bromby Street to improve universal access to the whole building.